Always in the Way.

It seems as though no matter how I plan things, something always gets in the way. I’m a procrastinator; but not in the sense that I’m just too lazy to do stuff. I do my best when I’m under pressure. I have gotten 95-100% on every single one of my essays for my Women’s Literature course. I usually do my essays on the day they are due. I had two hours to complete two 5-paragraph essays for my midterm and I got a 95% on that. It’s just how my brain works. My dilemma is NaNoWriMo and school clashing. There are 11 days left for NaNoWriMo and less than 30 for school. I’ve got to really work hard if I want to finish NaNo and do well in school. I’m hoping I can do it. My brain just needs to get out of its own way.

My biggest issue, that I no shit just realized this morning, is that I am completely stuck on my novel. I have 28,537 words and it’s just a prologue and three and a half chapters. 20k more words will not finish the novel, I know that. I also know exactly where I want the story to go and that, my friends, is the problem. I do my best when I have no idea what’s going on. I’ve been writing this story in my head for over 8 years. I know the beginning and I know the end. I know the middle too, but I haven’t written it yet. All the plot twists and dramatic dialogue pieces are jotted down scratch paper and in notebooks. I even have some saved on my computer. I am so excited to get this out there. It’s been in my head for so long and I’m dying to share it with other people. I’ve got my author buddy, Mira Day, to help push me. She’s read what I have so far (8 years ago and recently) and she swears it’s a good story. I believe it’s something fresh and it could do well. How well? I don’t know. But it can’t hurt to try. Even if I don’t make any money off of it, to know that it’s out there for others to enjoy is all I really need. And even though this blog is probably not reaching anyone right now, it still helps to get it all out. So if you are reading this, thank you from the bottom of my heart. You have no idea what that means to me.

-BLP

Leave a comment